SoundHound = a better Shazam that’s worth the switch




One problem I have with apps is that I get lazy and stuck in my ways.  Once I find an app to do a job, I usually stick with it, even if a newer, better app comes along that I should be using.  Such is the case with Shazam and SoundHound.  Shazam was the first big name in music identification apps, and that’s what I’ve been using this whole time.  I had heard good things about SoundHound months ago, but never gave it a try due to my aforementioned laziness.  However, last week when trying to Shazam a song, it ended up taking forever and didn’t ever come up with a result.  So I decided to give SoundHound a shot and I’m so glad I did.  Why would I switch from Shazam?

2 main reasons…
1.  it’s much faster  (sometimes it recognizes the song in just a few seconds!…vs. Shazam which usually takes at least 30)
2.  recognizes foreign music better (this may or may not be true, but has been my experience for the past week)

Your mileage may vary, but I’m glad I made the switch!  Oh one other thing, it also lets you automatically post your music matches to your Facebook or Twitter accounts.  I created a Twitter account so I’d have a way to keep track of mine.  You can find my recent music tags on twitter @yukstersays  (@yukisays was taken already…sadface)

Android Market
iTunes

Leave a comment