Great Android App: Gesture Search


This is an oldie, but a goodie.  This FREE app was released by Google back in March, but it doesn’t seem like most of us are taking advantage of this awesome app yet…

True to its name, Gesture Search allows you to trace letters on your screen to search for items on your phone.  I mainly use it for finding people in my contact list, but you can also use it for finding music tracks, videos, applications, etc.  You draw one letter at a time and it brings up a list of things that match.

For example, if I’m looking for a contact named Joe, then I’ll draw the letter J.  This will bring up all the things on my phone that start with J.  (ex.  Jack, Joe, Johnny).  Then I’ll draw an “O”, and it will bring up a list of all the things on my phone that spell “Jo”.   This will narrow the list down to Joe & Johnny.  If I draw an “e” then that narrows the list down to just Joe.  I think you guys get the idea.

Take home message is that it’s a fast and fun way to find things on your phone.

http://gesturesearch.googlelabs.com/

Go to the Android Market and search for “Gesture Search” or just scan the QR code below…

Leave a Reply

