My Gear (CELL PHONE): T-Mobile G1

The first Android cell phone.  A little buggy and slow by today’s standards, but this was the phone that started the Android movement and has led to phones like the Droid and the Nexus One.

What I like:
1.  Backed by Google, so new development and updates to the operating system and applications are constantly happening.  Google Maps, Calendar, Chat, Gmail, etc. work better on Android than any other phone I’ve seen.
2.  Physical keyboard, so you can touch type instead of having to look down at a touchscreen.  (It’s also got a touchscreen keyboard too if you prefer.)

3.  The phone is not shiny or flashy, but it’s not trying to be.  It’s about function.
4.  Replaceable cheap batteries, so I can always have a spare around in case I run out of juice.
5.  Multi-tasking, so you can run multiple apps at once.
6.  GChat. I know I mentioned this above already, but this is a huge feature.  It’s the equivalent of BBM for blackberries.  Send as many messages as you want through GChat to other Android phone users, or just to people on the computer.

What I don’t like so much:
1.  No 3.5mm headphone jack. You have to use an adapter.  Not a dealbreaker, but one more thing to carry.
2.  Slow processor. It can’t compete with today’s Android phones, and it has trouble running some applications
3.  Buggy. It can be buggy at times, but usually a quick reset will fix the issue.

Would I still buy this today?
No, the processor isn’t fast enough anymore.  Problem is, I don’t see a worthy successor yet.  I’m waiting for something like the Nexus One, but with a physical keyboard.

Leave a Reply

